RCYL


Volume 2

Chapter 4 Part 1


Translated by: june

I looked at the guards standing at the door and opened my mouth again.

“It is clear that it was Queen Rowena’s self-made play.”

I saw Empress Rowena when she was looking for milk to put in her tea. She deliberately took the milk from a distance jug into the tea. When she deliberately shook the milk, it was somewhat lumpy.

‘Milk coagulates when mixed with acid.’

That’s why people add lemon juice when making cheese or whipping cream.

‘Milk sometimes coagulates when spoiled, so if you find something like that, you have to call the servant right away.’

The Empress asked again.

“Can you swear on that statement?”

“Yes.”

It wasn’t just the milk that was strange. The Queen provoke the Empress too much today. As if trying to show that the Empress hated her.

‘She was trying to make it into the Empress’s work.’

As she thought the same as me, the Empress bit her lips tightly.

“That wre-…”

“…”

“But why is the Lady telling me these things?”

“I…”

I hate when someone do bad things with food, and I know that Queen Rowena has done something bad, so it was hard to keep quiet.

‘But the bigger reason is…’

I wiggle my hands and glanced up.

“I don’t want to be hated by the Empress.”

‘I won’t do anything, so just don’t bother me-’ was clearly reflected on my eyes, The empress narrowed her eyes when she saw that. Then ‘ahaha!’ burst into laughter.

“I like smart people. And the Lady is…”

“…”

“You are wise.”

“Thank you for the compliment.”

“When you come to the capital, look for me. Since I received help in this matter, I will pay you back.”

I grabbed my skirt and bent my knees.

“I wish your majesty the best of luck from afar.”

I’m fine without a treat! I meant it. The Empress smiled and said.

“I like humble people.”

I would be happier if you don’t…

The Empress as if thought of something, opened her mouth again.

“Do you perhaps know what poison she used?”

“Yes?”

“The more you know, the easier it will be. We can catch the distributor and make him spill everything.”

“The kind of poison.. I do not know.”

When I hesitate, the Empress lightly tapped my cheek as if it was okay.

“This alone already helped a lot.”

My conscience is stabbed, and I only wiggle my fingers. In fact, I knew the identity of the poison that Queen Rowena ate.

***

It has been four day since the poisoning incident. I was secretly summoned by Queen Rowena. As I entered the room, the Queen smiled at me with a pure white face.

“Come sit down.”

The Queen pointed to the small chair next to the bed, and I carefully sat down on the chair.

“Is your body all right Your Majesty?”

“I’m still feeling dizzy.”

The Queen gently close her eyes, holding her forehead. Her long eyelashes that were reflected in the light, glistened. Both the Empress and the Queen are really beautiful. It was hard to believe that this person was poisoned. The Queen asked holding my hand tenderly.

“So, how were you doing while I was in bed?”

“Her Majesty the Empress took care of me.”

“… You are honest, very.”

You know anyway, why do you ask.

Her voice was soft, but her eyes filled with frost. Above all, on the last few days, the Empress keep looking for me. She called me to the garden, giving me snacks and sweets, and took care of me. Every time it happened, I felt the gaze watching me from afar. It was ‘Gorail’, she was one of Queen Rowena’s handmaiden.

“What did you talk about with Your Majesty the Empress? Can you tell me?”

I pondered for a while and opened my mouth slowly.

“Her Majesty knows the Queen self-play poisoning.”

“What?”

The Queen’s pupils shook hardly and her breathing became rough.

“How does the Lady know that? Have you ever seen anyone say that to the Empress?”

“That’s, um… I told her.”

“…!”

She closed her eyes as if to endure the shock for a while, then looked at me.

“How did the Lady know that, and why did you tell the Empress…!”

She groaned, but then tried to put on a calm expression.

“Are you going to take the Empress’s side?”

“…”

“That would be a wrong choice. The Empress will take Eirene Xavier as her daughter-in-law.”

“…”

“You and Xavier’s daughter who are the same saint will inevitably have to face each other. Who do you think the Empress will help then?”

Just as the Queen was about to let go of my hand, I took her hand again.

“I have no intention of holding hand with the Empress.”

“What?”

“Queen. I did not tell Her Majesty that the poison you ate was ‘Tarantella’.”

The Queen’s eyes trembled. She clenched her teeth in terrifying surprise that I even knew the identity of the poison.

“That, how…”

‘I asked Dominique who is an expert of poison, and he said Tarantella was the only acid poison that could produce symptoms like the Queen.’

The Queen asked with a cold expression.

“How?”

My heart was pounding, but I tried to speak calmly.

“Tarantella is very rare, so once you know its identity, it’s possible to fine the distributor. If the distributor is caught, it will be revealed that the Queen bought it…”

“…”

“If I had tried to hold hand with the Empress, I would have told her the identity of the poison.”

If so, Queen Rowena would have faced the consequences immediately. I continued cautiously.

“I know why you did something that could be life-threatening.”

To prevent the 4th Prince from marrying a saint. When the two get married, the Crown Prince will gradually lose his place. So, the poison was prepared. Only by endangering the Empress can she prevent the marriage. I could tell that Queen Rowena was hesitant, knowing that this was a very dangerous thing to do. So, I tried to exclude myself as much as possible-

[Well. I don’t know because I’ve never compared myself to Lady Xavier. I have no intention of comparing myself in the future.]

I said the same thing as a declaration not to get involved in a political conflict. So, the Queen left with irrational choice. She took the queen’s hand with both hands.

“If Her Majesty the Empress is cornered, there will be a bigger war.”

“This is the only way for me. Unless you become my ally!”

“Even if I’m not an ally, I can be concerned as a friend.”

“What?”

“Maybe my concerns can be as helpful.”

“…”

“Actually, I can’t get close to you right away because I’m shy… but we can take our time…”

As I hesitated the Queen gave me a strange look. And after a while she burst out laughing.

“Ahaha!”

She smiled to the point where the corners of her eyes were slightly watery and she stroked my cheek.

“Okay, shall we slowly become friend?”

I nodded my head slightly, and the Queen continues, in a friendly voice.

“I’m endlessly kind to my friends.” -she said.

The Queen immediately contacted the imperial palace. She said that she had never taken poison, and that she was just bleeding from fatigue.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started