RCYL


Volume 2

Chapter 6 Part 1


Translated by june

“I also thought I would see Lady Rajien at a party, but here you are.”

I looked at her with a look of ‘That’s the same for you too’. Christine’s lips twisted. She then forced a smile.

“There are days when I’m curious about the salon.”

“Me too.”

“Would you like to join us then?”

“Yeah?”

“It’s a card game.”

Christine sent a man who was sitting and sat me down.

“Betting will be done with the accessories you wear.”

“Isn’t it gambling if you bet like that?”

“Only worn items can be bets. It’s not a big plate like a gamble.”

Christine explain the rules. When the person who removes all cards by playing only the same number or shape of cards presses the bell, the winner wins.

‘It looks like a mix of ‘One Card’ game and ‘Halligali.’

But isn’t this blindfolded? If you play poker to bet your money it would be full-fledged gambling.

The three people sitting at the table put necklaces and bracelets in the center. Come to think of it, the three of them wore a lot of accessories. The purpose of coming to the salon is clear.

‘Oh, it must be that!’

I heard it from the girls in the Eastern Palace. It was a game popular among peers. But when one loses all their possession, they are said to be regarded as a gambling addict who has lost face in play.

‘That’s why it can be a big disgrace.’

Apparently, Christine wanted to flatten my nose this time.

‘But I’m already seated, so it’s hard to refuse.’

I took off the earring and set it down in the middle of the table. The game started. When all the cards were returned to the participants, Christine grinned.

“Lady Franchiff is not familiar with the rules yet, so should we let her learn in the first game?”

“Please.”

I said with a smile.

Deng-! Christin’s face turned white when the bell rang announcing the game was over.

“Would you like to play more?”

When I asked in a calm voice, she bit her lip. It was a full amount of junk in front of me. There are already person who ran away from the salon because they have nothing to wear other than a dress. Then, Christine said sulkingly.

“Sure.”

“But Lady only has her seal left, right?”

Shouldn’t you go back before you lose more?

Christine said, clenching her fists.

“We’re going to bet everything we have on each other.”

Christine said as she was confident she could win this game. I shrugged my shoulder.

“But, I don’t get much in it. Isn’t it unfair?”

“Is there anything else you want?”

“We can’t bet anything other than what we wear, so I don’t think there’s any.”

“I’ll even bend my back!”

Christine said sharply. Bowing down was a way of greeting from a lower person to a higher person.

‘Do you want to lose face?’

If so. I nodded and Christine quickly shuffled the cards. And start. I rang the bell faster than the last time.

“….!”

“This, I didn’t even mean to take the seal.”

I brought Christine’s seal in front of me.

“To take even the seal, you are being too much!”

“Isn’t that’s why I make sure you are on for it before the last game?”

“…!”

Christine jumped up, blushing. I grabbed her arm as she was about to go back.

“Don’t you have more to give me?”

A gentleman who was watching the game, ‘pfft!’ laughed. And Christine didn’t know what to do.

“Let go of this!”

She shook her hand and shouted. People who are there started to gossip.

“How can a noble break their promise so easily…”

“It seems that there is no face left.”

“She even lost her seal.”

“That’s a little pathetic.”

At the words of the ladies, who covered their mouth with a fan, Christine shed them bitterly.

“How can you make me so miserable…”

When she was driven into a corner, her childlike side was clearly revealed. It was definitely a kid. You said there is a three-year age gap between us, so about seventeen years old?

‘She’ve been beaten this time, so next time she won’t try to fight me again right?’

As I conclude that, I shrugged and I watch her run away.

I returned to my father with the discarded items from the game.

“What is that?”

“I got it from playing cards.”

“That many?”

Dad said looking at my hand full of junk.

“Yes.”

“Are you good at games?”

I glanced around, picked up a wig and whispered in his ear.

“Because I cheated.”

Originally, the tricks were used by them first. I used it backwards. Christine’s bunch exchanged cards with each other below. In this game, the person who pressed the bell takes all the pieces, so it was to drive victory. I opened the portal for the timing when they changed cards. And I swapped the receiving side’s hand for mine.

“The last one is my pure skill.”

When I told him about it, his eyes widened slightly.

“Gee, my daughter has a knack for gambling.”

“I’ll pick it up and give it to Dad.”

“I’m going to be rich then.”

I giggled because it was funny that my father, one of the richest men in the empire, said such a thing.

“But you better leave it. Because the worms of the capital easily create dirty rumors.”

“Okay.”

I entrusted the belongings to the servant.

‘Ah, the seal is like a credit card, so it would be better to send it to Christine’s mansion.’

When I picked out the seal and put it in my pocket, Dad stroked my hair as if I did a good job. After spending some time at the salon, I went to the shopping district with my Dad. Everywhere we went, eyes were drawn to us, to my father rather than me.

“Haa…”

Middle-aged wives keep sighing sadly. Each time, I was startled.

“Everyone is looking at you, Dad.”

“It’s because I’m handsome.”

I’ve heard the same thing from Gawain before. After all, I think blood can’t lie, but my Dad put out something.

“It’s a rose!”

“Because it’s the season of roses.”

“You are a flirt after all, right?”

Dad chuckled. At that moment, his communication seat flickered. Dad’s expression hardened as he paused for a moment to talk to the person he was communication with.

“What’s wrong?”

He answered my question coldly.

“Someone unpleasant has come.”

-he said.

***


June’s note:

Eid Mubarak to everyone~ May Allah SWT accept our deeds and showers his blessing upon us. Hope you enjoy your time with loved one~


2 responses to “RCYL CH6-1”

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started