RCYL


Volume 3

Chapter 8 Part 3


Translated by june

Lieutenant Albert followed Dominique as he left the party hall. Albert looked around and confirmed that there were no one, and said in a low voice.

“I checked who the person that met with the Lady was.”

It was the order that Dominique had given before going to the terrace with Seniana.

“Someone saw Queen Courtney go into the garden.”

“…. Courtney, you said.”

“But how did you know that the Queen was approaching her?”

As if he had saw on his own a suspicious person approached the Lady before.

“Because there was magic.”

Dominique stands tall and stopped as he looked back at the party hall. It was the first time the power that had twisted his life, come to be a help. Born with the blood of a priest, he inherited his mother’s abilities. It was the power to sense and break the magic. At the party hall, He saw a red thread in Seniana. Connected to Michael.

‘That’s a fascination magic.’

I could be sure because it was magic used in war with foreign peoples. The soldiers bound by the red thread gradually fall in love with the one connected the thread, and eventually obey them. The aide let out a sad laugh.

“There was talk of a wizard from Queen Courtney’s family who perfected the magic of the spirit world.”

The Aide’s eyes froze cold.

“It must be the Empress.”

“….”

“Let the Franchiff know. Did you not save the saint?”
Dominique clenched his fists. Save? No, that was just an excuse. He gave himself an excuse to break the magic and coveted her lips. From the moment he saw the thread connected to Michael, he couldn’t stand it. Anxiety that her gaze full of pure kindness might turn to Michael entangled his whole coy.

It was jealousy, and at the same time obsession, desperate to not want to see her smiling in Michael’s arms.

Dominique immediately visited the Empress’s Palace. Empress Grania shed a sneer at him who dared not hide his life in front of her.

“You are so fearless. Do you think you are playing on the top of the Imperial Palace?”

“I wonder if I should.”

“You dare!”

The empress shouted out in rage. She put down the book and threw the tea on the table at him. Dominique did not avoid it. Water pooled on the tip of his head and ran down on the line of his chin.

The Empress licked her lips. He made her uncomfortable every time she saw his face. While the Crown Prince and Michael resemble their mothers, Dominique was a carbon copy of the Emperor. In addition, the face that seems to have been made by God with great care takes away the eyes that should have been on Michael. The Empress clenched her teeth.

“To whom do you dare…”

Dominique shook his wet head and said in a low voice.

“It doesn’t mean anything to me that you expelled a newborn baby to the border or ordered me to die on the battlefield.”

“You….!”

Dominique’s gray eyes darkened. Those who came back alive from the dead living in the cradle of the calendula, was someone that a person like her living in the safe space of the Imperial Palace could handle.

The Empress’s face flushed with anger. She felt ashamed that she felt overpowered by only the wrong bloodline. Dominique muttered in a low voice.

“Don’t touch her.”

“….!”

“It won’t end with just one or two people deaths.”

And there must be Michael in that pile of corpses. The Empress expression hardened, understanding the meaning of the words. After saying those words, Dominique got up and picked up the book that the Empress had thrown away. Then, as if to warn her, he shook his head lightly and left the room.

***

After returning from the ball, I was dazed the whole time. Then, all of a sudden, I turned red and shook my head. That day, my family looked at me with puzzled expressions.

“What happened at the ball?”

I was taken aback by my father’s question.

“Nothing!”

Oh god! I was so flustered that I raise my voice. My family looked at me suspiciously. I swallowed dry saliva and rolled my eyes.

“Tha-, tha-, ah! So, I’m thinking of going down to the estate before the vacation is over.”

“When?”

“The day after the moon rising. They say you can see it better from the observatory.”

Dad frowned for a moment, but he sighed, thinking he couldn’t help it.

“Okay.”

Then he cut the meat and put it on my plate and continued.

“I heard Queen Courtney approached you?”

I nodded as I chewed the meat.

“Yes.”

“What for?”

“She asked me to make another drink. She thought I gave the child to Countess of Obeur.”

It’s absurd.

‘Well, portals and gods both don’t even make sense.’

The Queens were not just the Emperor’s wives. They are in charge of the fate of each part of the Empire. Queen Courtney was desperate as she is from the weakest South. Because she can’t participate in the battle for the throne as she can’t get involved in the conflict in the first place.

‘The Empress or Queen Rowena is people who does not trust people easily, that’s why they don’t exactly put her by their side.’

Gawain chuckled.

“There seems to be a lot of people who believe so. There are some who send a letter asking for a meeting, even some who came directly to the front of the mansion.”

Really? As I opened my eyes, Lancelot looked at my dad.

“It would be good to move the information unit.”

“Information unit.”

“It is important for the safety of the youngest to spread the sacredness widely. If their eyes are focused on her, even the assassins will not be able to approach her easily.”

“True.”

But isn’t that a scam? When I look at Lancelot with a worried expression, he grinned.

“It’s a trick.”

Then he took my plate.

“Eat a lot.”

He put more garnish on the meat and stroked my hair.

‘Well, for safety.’

As I was nodding my head, Milo the butler came in with a box. Gawain asked.

“What is that?”

“It’s for the lady.”

“The sender?”

“It came without name-“

He hesitated for a moment and looked at my father. Usually, mail is delivered to the owner through rigorous inspection at the mansion’s post office. A butler as meticulous as Milo could not have known that.

“There was an urgent delivery sign.”

I stared at Lancelot as if question what it means, he answered in a low voice.

“It is a secret symbol used only between the Imperial Family and the 11th Golden seat.”

Then it’s very important! Why are they giving it to me?

Milo said, ‘I checked to see if there was magic or divine power, but nothing was caught.’

Inside the box were books and letters. As soon as I saw the book, my eyes widened.

‘The record of the evildoers!’

“I think His Highness Dominique sent it.”

Then I whispered to my family, saying “It’s only available in the Imperial Palace.”. Then Gawain asked.

“Why are you interested in the evildoers?”

“I think it would be good to know. It is said that evildoers can even enter the portal.”

“It only appears in the legends. Those evildoers.”

“Just because. There is a god, but I wonder if there are evildoers too.”

Saying like that, Gawain nodded. I took out the letter and read it, and I stood firm. The content was, ‘Queen Courtney cast magic on you and it was purified, but just in case, get it checked by a wizard.’

Marilyn secretly brought one of the wizards in the mansion to my room. The wizard was a short woman with copper-colored hair, reaching up to her chin. She put seals on my wrists, shoulders, and knees, then cast a magic. After an hour of testing, she nodded behind me.

“There are traces of magic remain.”

The Marilyn grabbed the wizard and shouted.

“Is our Lady okay?”

“It is only the traces left after the magic has been purified. In a week or so, even the traces will be gone.”

I asked the wizards.

“Can you tell me what kind of magic is it?”

“in my opinion, it seems to be some kind of psychic magic. Some kind of fascination magic.”

She explained what the fascination magic was.  As she said up to ‘…. will make you obedient,’ I burst out laughing. Seeing that day, Citron said.

“Let’s tell the masters.”

“No, don’t tell them.”

Even if it wasn’t because of it, we’ve collided with the Imperial Palace several times. If this happens one more time, the relationship between Franchiff and the Imperial Palace will be irreversible.

‘But I can’t just let it slide.’


2 responses to “RCYL CH8-3”

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started