RCYL


Volume 3

Chapter 8 Part 7


Translated by june

I returned to the mansion with my family. My family was still concerned, so I was diagnosed by a doctor. After hearing that there was nothing wrong. I was finally able to go up to my room and check my luggage. It was the last inspection before leaving for the estate tomorrow morning. But still, I keep remembered about Dominique.

‘I have a fling!’

But I won’t see him until I go back to the academy.

‘Shall I contact him?’

“Ummm,”

I thought hard, then shook my head.

‘No, I’m leaving tomorrow, so let’s spend time with Dad today.’

Then roll down the bed and headed to my father’s study, where the family was gathered. The older brothers were also going to leave, so they were finishing up their work in the Imperial Capital. I poked my face through the open door.

“Can I come in?”

Lancelot smiled and nodded.

“Sure.”

I sat quietly on the couch and waited for them to finish their work. About thirty minutes later, my father and my brothers sat down on the sofa.

“What’s going on?”

“I’m going back tomorrow. I want to see Daddy’s face a lot.”

Dad’s expression softened. He stroked my hair and I laughed.

“What do you want to do?”

“What I want to do?”

“Or something you usually do is also fine.”

There was something I dreamed of when I was Yoon Se-na. Playing card with the whole family during the holidays. I was really jealous of that. Because there was only me and the teacher. After a moment of hesitation as the memory came to mind, Dad said.

“It’s okay, so tell me.”

“Then I want to play a game that everyone can play together….”

Gawain laughs as if frustrated.

“Its just that?”

“But I’ve never done it before.”

I used to play card games with my teacher.

‘But doing it alone is something different from doing it with a group of family members.’

It’s not as messy as you see on TV, and it’s different as no one was there. I wondered how it would feel if we all jokes around like that. Lancelot grinned as I put on a melancholy expression.

“Is Rotohe okay?”

Rotohe is a traditional game from Gilageon, right? It’s very similar to hwatu/Go-Stop, so I thought it would be worthwhile if there was someone nearby to tell me how to do it.

“I’ve never done it before, so can I do it with Citron?”

“Sure.”

Then Gawain intervened.

“Put the stake. I’ll brush you off.”

We sit around a wide table, I turned the Rotohe card. After playing a practice game, I got the feeling.

‘Its really similar to hwatu.’

The difference is that you can exchange your card with someone else’s card. You have to make a deal though.

Rotohe was Gawain’s stage. In front of him were checks and pledges in exchange.

‘Ahh, it looks like I’m losing everything.’

The stakes were huge. It was really, really huge. I wondered if gambling was just like that. Bacchus, the knight who was guarding me because he was ill while holding the card, whispered.

“You only need Night No. 3 card.”

“Number 3?”

I quickly looked at the cards my dad and my brothers had put together.

“There is!”

…. In Gawain’s deck of all people. I looked at him with a desperate expression.

“Please exchange with me.”

“What’s the price?”

“Um, I’ll open the portal when you need it.”

“I’m not attracted to it.”

“Sure?”

Gawain grinned.

“Is it Dominique or me?”

That question again! I cant answer and hesitate. Now that I’m no longer just friends with Dominique, it’s a more difficult question than before. Gawain twirled Night No. 3 in front of me as I was worried.

“Then well, just lose.”

“…. Uh.”

Marilyn clasped her hands tightly.

“Lady, you have a chance. If there’s an Elf No. 2 that hasn’t come out yet, it’s a comeback!”

That’s right, Elf No. 2. I just gave up Gawain’s card. Come out, come out. I begged and prayed, and finally Elf No. 2 was put on the board.

‘Next turn is me, I’ll definitely take it!’

-is what I thought

“I’m sorry for the youngest, what should I do?”

It went to Lancelot.

“Please exchange it with me!”

Gawain was viciously demanding in return, but Lancelot and Dad were on the soft side for me. Previously, when exchanging cards, I only had to do three hoorays. Lancelot grinned.

“Prince Dominique or me?”

“….”

I put the card down and said in a shrill voice.

“I lost.”

I’ll have to make up for it in the next game. I made a firm promise, but this time, it was me who was cornered. Goblin No. 4 which Dad has could make up for it.

“Exchange….”

Dad will make it easy. I looked at him with a look of disbelief.

“Is it the Second Prince or me?”

Is that a buzzword?

After a heavy loss in Rotohe, I sat down on the sofa with a depressed expression. Then the butler Milo grinned and parked the tea in front of me and my family. Gawain shrugged and raised his shoulders.

“That’s why you should have just answer the question.”

“You were just trying to make fun of me!”

Every time I ask for an exchange, they would ask the same thing, ‘Dominique or me?’ they asked. I sighed while drinking tea.

‘Should I call him before I go back?’

People in Yoon Se-na’s world keep in touch every now and then, but is it usual here?

‘It’s still between the royal family and the nobility though….’

What do you do here before dating? Just like me, Seniana has no experience with the opposite sex, as there is no such in her memories. Lancelot asked as I was alone in my troubles.

“What kind of worries would our Lady has?”

“That’s…”

“What is it?”

“Before dating, what do you usually do?”

I asked with my eyes wide open, and Gawain frowned slightly.

“Why are you curious about that?”

“Well, I was just curious suddenly….”

“Are you dating someone?”

“No!”

Oops. My feet were numb and I answered too quickly. Lancelot stared at me with a strange expression. As I rolled my eyes, he grinned.

“You should not touch each other’s hair, and refrain from contacting each other. Spend more time with your family than with your lover.”

Then Gawain looked at him and burst out laughing.

“What nonsense-“

Lancelot raised an eyebrow, and Gawain said, “Ah.” He nodded quickly.

“Right. You should meet once every three months only.”

“Really?”

I looked at my dad wondering if it was real.

“…. That’s right.”

“Did you do that with mom too?”

“…”

“…?”

“I think we met once every six months.”

I became gloomy.

‘Really? It’s strange….’

But that’s what Dad said, that must be true! After all, in the Joseon Dynasty, there were many cases of marriages without even seeing each other faces. It seems that this era and Joseon have some similarities. No, but why is Dominique just kiss me in the eyes? And just hold my hand? Its so different from what I thought.

‘No, there’s no law that said everyone have to do the same.’

I’ll have to tell Dominique later that we’ll see each other at least once a month.

The next day, my brothers and I had breakfast with Dad and then we got ready for departure. Gorail, Baccus, and Citron who were took by Grandpa from the estate come with us as well. Marilyn couldn’t hold back her tears and was scolded by the butler Milo. I said looking at my Dad.

“After successfully completing the academy, I will come again.”

“Okay.”

“You have to take care of yourself okay?”

Dad nodded his head lightly. The thought that Dad would be alone in this big mansion made me feel bad.

‘It would be nice to reconcile with grandfather.’

Then we can go to the estate together.

“Always be careful.”

“Yes.”

After saying our farewell, I opened the portal. The scent of green swept through the air. It was the Franchiff spirit I missed.

***


3 responses to “RCYL CH8-7”

  1. Thanks for the update and translation. I really appreciate your effort in doing this. I’m looking forward for Sena’s school day since the bully already been taken care of.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started